Home / The Six Flags of Texas History

The Six Flags of Texas History


The story of the history of the state of Texas is a fascinating tale filled with a number of different twists and turns. The leadership and control of the state has passed from several different groups, each with a different identity and allegiance. In fact, the territory and state of Texas has had six different flags fly signifying control of the area.

The original territory of Texas was under the control of France. The French first established a colony in Texas in 1684. This colony and French control lasted until 1689 when the territory came under control of Spain. The flag of Spain flew in the territory until 1821 when control was relinquished to Mexico.

The territory of Texas was a Mexican colony from 1821 until the Texas Revolution in 1836. At that stage the territory declared its independence from Mexico and became the Republic of Texas. For the next ten years the territory was an independent republic and in 1845 it was accepted as a part of the United States of America.

However, in 1861, the War Between the States was starting to split apart the United States. States began to pick sides as to supporting the north and remain part of the United States or join the south. The state of Texas decided to leave the United States and become part of the Confederate States of America. The state of Texas remained with the Confederate States until the end of the Civil War in 1865.

After the conclusion of the Civil War, the country, including Texas, was part of a reconstructive period in U.S. History. The problems that resulted from the Civil War was beginning to become repaired, and Texas once again became part of the United States of America. Since that time, Texas has become a big part of the growth of the country and now is the second largest population and areas of any of the states.

To give you a better sense of the history of the great state of Texas, please feel free to look over the following links of information, including the six flags that ruled Texas.




Republic of Texas

United States of America

Confederate States of America

popular posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *